• PiperForum.com is a vibrant community of Piper owners and pilots. Our over 1,500+ active members use Piper Forum to swap technical knowledge, plan meetups and sell planes/parts. We host technical knowledge of general aviation topics and specific topics on J3-Cubs, Cherokees, Comanches, Pacers and more. In addition to an instant community of pilots for you, PiperForum.com is a library of technical topics, airplane builds, images, technical manuals, technical documents and more.

Access to PiperForum.com is subscription based. Subscriptions are only $49.99/year or $6.99/month to gain access to this great community and unmatched library of Piper knowledge.

Click Here to Become a Subscribing Member and Access PiperForum.com in Full!

Turbo Arrow Settings and ?s

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

flyguydon

Supporting Member
Lifetime Supporting
Reaction score
I have been flying an Arrow II for 7 years. Been great but want to go faster and higher.

I am picking up a Turbo Arrow III next week to see how I like it. I am gonna keep my current one too until I am certain the TA is the way to go.

I have a few questions for Turbo Arrow drivers:

My current plane I have been flying at basically 24/24 or 24 and whatever altitude will provide.

I do not see anything like that on the turbo power chart. It all seems to gravitate to like 23/33. So, regardless of altitude are you "supposed" to cruise at boost? If you pull it back to like 24/24 does it just perform like a normally aspirated Arrow, or is this not a good setting? I see take off at 2575/41. What... like two minutes and back down. Would it be better if you have plenty of runway to take off at 2575/33 so you do not stress the engine?

Now... on starting.

My current plane is COLD: prime/idle shutoff/slight off idle/pump on/ crank
HOT: same with no prime.
Starts every time.