• PiperForum.com is a vibrant community of Piper owners and pilots. Our over 1,500+ active members use Piper Forum to swap technical knowledge, plan meetups and sell planes/parts. We host technical knowledge of general aviation topics and specific topics on J3-Cubs, Cherokees, Comanches, Pacers and more. In addition to an instant community of pilots for you, PiperForum.com is a library of technical topics, airplane builds, images, technical manuals, technical documents and more.

Access to PiperForum.com is subscription based. Subscriptions are only $49.99/year or $6.99/month to gain access to this great community and unmatched library of Piper knowledge.

Click Here to Become a Subscribing Member and Access PiperForum.com in Full!

Need Advice from Experts on Cherokee 140

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hello everyone. I am a newbie and a student pilot. I am in the process of purchasing a 1966 Cherokee 140 to finish flight school and build time in. I am not a young man (50) so not a kid looking for first toy. I had a pre-purchase inspection done and the airplane looks great in all respects except for two concerns of my inspector. He found a 4 inch crack in the sheet metal on the bottom of the right wing over the wing spar. He is an experienced and certified aviation mechanic certified to do A& P and is also an IA. He said that cracks in the sheet metal on a 50 year old plane is common, but this is in a non stressed area and someplace he has never seen cracks in a Cherokee before. He said I should talk to the owner about having it taken to a loc a l company who does all of the major insurance repair for airframes in this area to see what they thought and to ensure that the spar is not cracked. When I spoke to the owner he wanted to talk to his A & P about it and it would probably just need the crack stop drilled and a doubler applied. So my question here is if it is done by a certifie