• PiperForum.com is a vibrant community of Piper owners and pilots. Our over 1,500+ active members use Piper Forum to swap technical knowledge, plan meetups and sell planes/parts. We host technical knowledge of general aviation topics and specific topics on J3-Cubs, Cherokees, Comanches, Pacers and more. In addition to an instant community of pilots for you, PiperForum.com is a library of technical topics, airplane builds, images, technical manuals, technical documents and more.

Access to PiperForum.com is subscription based. Subscriptions are only $49.99/year or $6.99/month to gain access to this great community and unmatched library of Piper knowledge.

Click Here to Become a Subscribing Member and Access PiperForum.com in Full!

Everything about the PA-32-300

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

midsouthps

Reaction score
I recently purchased a 1968 Cherokee Six. I'm a new pilot experienced in a 172 only. I've had about 4 hours in the six and I'm now high performance rated. I'm comfortable with the constant speed prop and I love this Six. It has very new paint and interior and flies beautifully. But, there is a lot I just don't know. I would really appreciate any and all advice an comments relative to flying this bird. Some things I need help with:
1. There is a small valve near the pilots left knee just below the panel. It looks like a fuel valve. I can't find any reference to it in the airframe log. Any idea what it is?

2. I flew a couple hundred miles in it the other day. first opportunity to cruise. I was getting horrible fuel consumption. Can someone give a really good detail on setting the prop, MP and leaning at altitude?