• PiperForum.com is a vibrant community of Piper owners and pilots. Our over 1,500+ active members use Piper Forum to swap technical knowledge, plan meetups and sell planes/parts. We host technical knowledge of general aviation topics and specific topics on J3-Cubs, Cherokees, Comanches, Pacers and more. In addition to an instant community of pilots for you, PiperForum.com is a library of technical topics, airplane builds, images, technical manuals, technical documents and more.

Access to PiperForum.com is subscription based. Subscriptions are only $49.99/year or $6.99/month to gain access to this great community and unmatched library of Piper knowledge.

Click Here to Become a Subscribing Member and Access PiperForum.com in Full!

Who runs performance numbers on every flight?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I’ve been flying for over 30 years now and know how easy it is to fall into the complacency trap. I wonder how many other low land GA pilots are still using their performance charts after they have passed their PPL check rides? When I owned and operated a 135 operation we were required to have W&B and performance data for each revenue flight but when operating as part 91 flight we never did.

I own a, new to me, 1979 Dakota and keep it hangared at a sea level elevation airport that has a 2500’ strip with obstacles on both ends of the runway.

I’m not generally concerned with the runway length given the performance of the Dakota. However, when I’m taking a full load of people, fuel and dealing with density altitude due to summer heat it’s nice to know the expected performance numbers before launching into the air.