• PiperForum.com is a vibrant community of Piper owners and pilots. Our over 1,500+ active members use Piper Forum to swap technical knowledge, plan meetups and sell planes/parts. We host technical knowledge of general aviation topics and specific topics on J3-Cubs, Cherokees, Comanches, Pacers and more. In addition to an instant community of pilots for you, PiperForum.com is a library of technical topics, airplane builds, images, technical manuals, technical documents and more.

Access to PiperForum.com is subscription based. Subscriptions are only $49.99/year or $6.99/month to gain access to this great community and unmatched library of Piper knowledge.

Click Here to Become a Subscribing Member and Access PiperForum.com in Full!

GPS Direct Routing for IFR Operations

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I have been flying IFR for about 10 years to and from many states east of the Rockies. I often file for and get direct routing as I really have very little desire to get stacked up on airways with multiple other planes. Not to mention airways often can add time to flights.

Just a few days ago we returned from a two week vacation to see different cities and sites. Our flight plan over the two weeks took us to the following cities

1. Start at Columbia, SC
  2. Richmond, Virginia
  3. Allentown, PA
  4. Manchester, NH
  5. Bar Harbor, Maine
  6. Manchester, NH
  7. Allentown, PA
  8. Richmond, Virginia
  9. End at Columbia, SC