• PiperForum.com is a vibrant community of Piper owners and pilots. Our over 1,500+ active members use Piper Forum to swap technical knowledge, plan meetups and sell planes/parts. We host technical knowledge of general aviation topics and specific topics on J3-Cubs, Cherokees, Comanches, Pacers and more. In addition to an instant community of pilots for you, PiperForum.com is a library of technical topics, airplane builds, images, technical manuals, technical documents and more.

    Access to PiperForum.com is subscription based. Subscriptions are only $19.99/year or $3.99/month to gain access to this great community and unmatched library of Piper knowledge.

    Click Here to Become a Subscribing Member and Access PiperForum.com in Full!

WTB: Encoder

BGFYankee

Tire Kicker
Joined
Jun 25, 2013
Messages
1,679
Reaction score
354
On a related note, my encoder (or maybe just transponder) seems to be showing a definite 300 foot discrepancy that ATC is not appreciating. Can that be tweaked?


Sent from my iPhone using Piper Forum
 

BGFYankee

Tire Kicker
Joined
Jun 25, 2013
Messages
1,679
Reaction score
354
It's weird because my pitot-static and transponder check was completed literally this past week. Shouldn't that have shown up??


Sent from my iPhone using Piper Forum
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2013
Messages
3,853
Reaction score
670
It's weird because my pitot-static and transponder check was completed literally this past week. Shouldn't that have shown up??


Sent from my iPhone using Piper Forum

It should have. Mine was tested under same pitot static checks. See attached. I know I am past due to test mine. But I not ifr yet. ImageUploadedByPiper Forum1404688030.802359.jpg
 

BGFYankee

Tire Kicker
Joined
Jun 25, 2013
Messages
1,679
Reaction score
354
Yup. For whatever reason it wasn't caught during the check, but I hooked up with the guy again this morning and it was about a 30 minute fix adjusting the high and low of the encoder. Followed it up with a quick flight and call to Memphis Center for verification. Hopefully this will resolve the problem.
 

raymos

Member
Joined
Dec 11, 2013
Messages
1,667
Reaction score
268
Location
KLHW
It should have. Mine was tested under same pitot static checks. See attached. I know I am past due to test mine. But I not ifr yet. View attachment 2917
I checked the regulations when mine was about to turn into a pumpkin at the end of the month. The encoder is required to enter class B and C airspace in VFR as well.

If you plan to stay in class G space until it is inspected, you should be fine.

My plane is used for training so I wanted to be sure it was legal to go into those larger airports.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 31, 2013
Messages
3,853
Reaction score
670
I checked the regulations when mine was about to turn into a pumpkin at the end of the month. The encoder is required to enter class B and space in VFR as well.



If you plan to stay in class G space until it is inspected, you should be fine.



My plane is used for training so I wanted to be sure it was legal to go into those larger airports.

Thanks for reminding. I would need to get it inspected this month as per 14 CFR 91.413. Will take care of it before Oshkosh trip.
 

GM.

Staff member
Admin
Moderator
Joined
Apr 12, 2010
Messages
14,015
Reaction score
3,493
If you plan to stay in class G space until it is inspected, you should be fine.
Actually, he would also be fine out of G airspace with authorized deviations. You just have to let ATC know.
 
Last edited:

Latest posts

Top