• PiperForum.com is a vibrant community of Piper owners and pilots. Our over 1,500+ active members use Piper Forum to swap technical knowledge, plan meetups and sell planes/parts. We host technical knowledge of general aviation topics and specific topics on J3-Cubs, Cherokees, Comanches, Pacers and more. In addition to an instant community of pilots for you, PiperForum.com is a library of technical topics, airplane builds, images, technical manuals, technical documents and more.

    Access to PiperForum.com is subscription based. Subscriptions are only $19.99/year or $3.99/month to gain access to this great community and unmatched library of Piper knowledge.

    Click Here to Become a Subscribing Member and Access PiperForum.com in Full!

Few pics of a recent Dynon install along with IFD540 in a PA28-140 (upgraded to 160HP)

gusve

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2012
Messages
703
Reaction score
135
Location
Watertown NY
I was thinking about the Dynon system until I find out my S-TEC 30 will not work. I believe Dynon only work with their own AP. Mine is working perfect and don't see the need to invest in another install + AP. Great job, very clean.
 

Flybuddy

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 3, 2014
Messages
596
Reaction score
256
I was thinking about the Dynon system until I find out my S-TEC 30 will not work. I believe Dynon only work with their own AP. Mine is working perfect and don't see the need to invest in another install + AP. Great job, very clean.
I had a Skyview in my last plane (RV6), the autopilot servos were relatively inexpensive, something like $1500 for the pair. Would think you could sell the S-TEC for more than that to help defray costs.

To the OP, nice looking and very functional!
 

msires

N8825W
Lifetime Supporter
Joined
Jan 7, 2013
Messages
4,891
Reaction score
2,182
S-TEC wants a lot of money for a new STC for a used autopilot, which makes it difficult to sell a used one for any amount worth messing with. Selling it for parts you could probably get more than for the whole unit.
 

Aussiecat

Planning for PA-24/PA-30
Joined
Dec 26, 2013
Messages
569
Reaction score
237
Location
Sherwood Park, Alberta. CANADA
I was thinking about the Dynon system until I find out my S-TEC 30 will not work. I believe Dynon only work with their own AP. Mine is working perfect and don't see the need to invest in another install + AP. Great job, very clean.
@Flying_Monkey has a Dynon skyview in his Cherokee 6 and a TruTrak autopilot So I believe they work together, It might work with the STec 30(?)
 

Klr94ss

Advanced Aviation Reno
Sponsor
Joined
Apr 9, 2017
Messages
822
Reaction score
258
Location
Reno, NV
The dynon can feed digital data to a digital autopilot like the TT Via the ARINC 429. I can look further in the manuals to see if there is any way to fully interface to the S-Tec. The Dynon autopilot is very inexpensive, still waiting on STC's for additional aircraft.
 

gusve

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 18, 2012
Messages
703
Reaction score
135
Location
Watertown NY
I dont think is worth the hassle of taking apart, sell it, and buy new stuff just to replace what is working perfectly fine for me. A complete install like flying monkey has will be awesome if I had the extra cash to spend.
 

Klr94ss

Advanced Aviation Reno
Sponsor
Joined
Apr 9, 2017
Messages
822
Reaction score
258
Location
Reno, NV
I dont think is worth the hassle of taking apart, sell it, and buy new stuff just to replace what is working perfectly fine for me. A complete install like flying monkey has will be awesome if I had the extra cash to spend.
I'm the same way, there is a lot of equipment in my plane still that I don't have the heart or budget to remove. I pulled out my century autopilot and replaced with the trutrak because the altitude hold failed. I love the way the TT flies the airplane, but would have not replaced the original had it not failed. Now the Aspen E5... That was definitely a want as my dg was starting to head south and I wanted to get rid of the vacuum pump.
 

SBeard4

Supporting Member
Joined
Dec 15, 2016
Messages
150
Reaction score
70
We also did some interior work for him, installing a TN wings seat kit. He plans on a newer audio panel in the near future, budget was getting close. I think paint is in the future as well.
so what's the ball park on a dynon and ifd 540.
I've got a Cherokee six with a functional legacy autopilot so was holding out for a few more certifications to come through so the autopilot could be done at the same time
 

vaillankm

Supporting Member
Joined
Mar 13, 2020
Messages
28
Reaction score
6
Who did your panel? I have a 140 also with an IFD540 and S-TEC 40. was looking at installing the Dynon system I’n mine, but like you want an autopilot that will work with not only the 540 but also the KX-155 that I have. Btw, I have a KX-125 with mounting rack and connectors for sale.
 
Top