• PiperForum.com is a vibrant community of Piper owners and pilots. Our over 1,500+ active members use Piper Forum to swap technical knowledge, plan meetups and sell planes/parts. We host technical knowledge of general aviation topics and specific topics on J3-Cubs, Cherokees, Comanches, Pacers and more. In addition to an instant community of pilots for you, PiperForum.com is a library of technical topics, airplane builds, images, technical manuals, technical documents and more.

Access to PiperForum.com is subscription based. Subscriptions are only $49.99/year or $6.99/month to gain access to this great community and unmatched library of Piper knowledge.

Click Here to Become a Subscribing Member and Access PiperForum.com in Full!

Engine monitor- couple of questions.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

arkvet

Reaction score
So I'm falling in love with my new JPI EDM 830. I'm still a horrible newbie at taking advantage of all of the features but am reading the book and learning more each flight. I haven't downloaded any data yet because honestly I'm sure it is all over the place given my playing with the mixture and power settings so much. Sometime soon I'll get some data downloaded and analyze things.

Right now I have two questions which may spawn more after some discussion. Who knows?

1- which parameters do you display by default in the column that is always showing? The shop that set it up did the default list:

Oil-T
Oil-P
GPH
USD- fuel used
REM- fuel remaining
REQ- fuel required to next waypoint
DIF- EGT difference (hottest / coldest)
OAT- Outside air temp.

I should have mentioned before this is in a Saratoga IO-540 normally aspirated. MAP and RPM are always displated at top.