• PiperForum.com is a vibrant community of Piper owners and pilots. Our over 1,500+ active members use Piper Forum to swap technical knowledge, plan meetups and sell planes/parts. We host technical knowledge of general aviation topics and specific topics on J3-Cubs, Cherokees, Comanches, Pacers and more. In addition to an instant community of pilots for you, PiperForum.com is a library of technical topics, airplane builds, images, technical manuals, technical documents and more.

Access to PiperForum.com is subscription based. Subscriptions are only $49.99/year or $6.99/month to gain access to this great community and unmatched library of Piper knowledge.

Click Here to Become a Subscribing Member and Access PiperForum.com in Full!

"Cleared out of controlled airspace for an approach": IFR procedures in Canada

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Good morning!

I'm an instrument rated private pilot from Upstate NY and am finally getting my feet wet flying to destinations in Canada. Last month, we flew IFR to Billy Bishop Airport in Toronto (the view of the skyline on approach is absolutely phenomenal). I did a lot of research beforehand, got (and read) the appropriate Canadian publications, and the whole flight went very well.

Yesterday, we flew to Bromont (CZBM), an uncontrolled airport east of Montreal in Quebec under Class E airspace. On the way in, I heard a phrase from Montreal Center that I found to be confusing (which is not fun in IMC) and I am hoping that some of the folks here that regularly fly in the Canadian system might be able to fill in the gaps for me. I'll apologize in advance if I mis-remember exactly what was said (because it was unfamiliar phrasing), but I will sum up to the best of my memory.