Piper Forum > Piper Models > Twins > Piper twin not achieving full rpm on take off roll on right engine
Help Support Piper Forum by donating using the link above or becoming a Supporting Member.
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-07-2017, 12:07 AM   #1
2013grandsport
Established Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 29
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default Piper twin not achieving full rpm on take off roll on right engine

So here is an odd one... Last few flights everything has been well. Lycoming 320s make 2700 on take off and until I pull the props back up at altitude... Today however I only got 2500-2550 on take off roll, and aborted. Put the plane away until I went back tonight to try and check it again. This time on take off roll 2700 was obtained. unexplainable. I cannot understand what is going on. I checked to verify with a digital tool to confirm I am making the RPM the tach is indicating, and it is accurate. Problems dont just disappear like this. Is my governor about to take a dump on me?


2013grandsport is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2017, 12:35 AM   #2
sierrakilo99
Established Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Apopka FL
Posts: 1,144
Liked 222 Times on 186 Posts
Likes Given: 138

Default

Make sure that the cables running to the governor are not binding or loose anywhere which would give you different throw at the governor control arm.

sk


__________________
"Not my circus, not my monkeys"
sierrakilo99 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2017, 12:57 AM   #3
2013grandsport
Established Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 29
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

cables to governors are new mcfarlene. Smooth operation, not hanging up at all. I will check it again though however to be sure. Dang gremlins.
2013grandsport is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2017, 02:57 AM   #4
Coopere
Established Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 400
Liked 54 Times on 45 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

throttle cable not binding as well? maybe you didn't have full throttle throw?


intake clean and open? I heard of an issue once like this ended up being a rag from maintenance in the airbox, it was partly ingested but then moved out of the way and was on the side of the airbox however on a much different aircraft... on a dc3

could be a birds nest though or something, likely not but if it were me I would check just in case

Last edited by Coopere; 12-07-2017 at 03:00 AM.
Coopere is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2017, 03:25 AM   #5
2013grandsport
Established Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 29
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

def no birds... she lives inside. havent had the air filters off or airboxes open to leave a rag in or something of that nature.. plane has been fine, and suddenly this lower rpm on the right engine.. Now its back to normal magically, and makes 2700... I feel like something with the governor is going crazy. They are oooooollllllllldddddddd
2013grandsport is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2017, 03:26 AM   #6
2013grandsport
Established Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 29
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

date stamp on them is from 1966
2013grandsport is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2017, 03:27 AM   #7
2013grandsport
Established Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 29
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

as for the throttle, manifold pressure on both engines was exactly the same at about 28 or so inches on take off roll. If one throttle were binding or not all the way forward, I do not think that would be likely?
2013grandsport is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2017, 05:56 PM   #8
Coopere
Established Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 400
Liked 54 Times on 45 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

If you were making full manifold pressure then not likely the throttle cables or linkage
Coopere is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2017, 07:14 PM   #9
GM.
Supporting Member
PiPe_ADMIN.png
 
GM.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 9,985
Liked 1770 Times on 1324 Posts
Likes Given: 537

Default

Iíve seen prop anomalies occur on takeoff and climb with very cold oil.
GM. is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2017, 09:11 PM   #10
magman
Established Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Western New York
Posts: 1,922
Liked 363 Times on 273 Posts
Likes Given: 233

Default

My guess is Prop Control Conduit is slipping in clamps.

With 1 person in Cockpit activating Control the person

at Gov should be able hear it hit High RPM Stop.


magman is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cherokee Six / Lance covers - full wings, tail section, full year around time protect Johnsteffey Parts for Sale 0 06-30-2017 02:56 PM
Twin Engine Partnership in Southern Ohio? jcedvm Twins 0 04-15-2017 04:10 PM
Twin Engine Tri-Pacer & J-3 magman Historical & Hysterical 10 02-13-2015 02:40 AM
piper autocontrol III roll command knob in-op Gary235 Avionics 7 05-28-2013 12:38 AM

This forum is provided for entertainment purposes only. Piperforum.com is not affiliated or endorsed by Piper Aircraft Inc. or its subsidiaries.


Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS